Where Random Happens

Dia De Los Muertos


Dia de Los Muertos Covers November 1-2.

I think of them as the second and third days of Halloween, but they’re much more than that.

Nov. 1 is mainly for the children and that’s when you see the candy sugar skulls and esqueletos. You remember your dead and the best of their lives, but you do not mourn them.

Nov. 2 is largely for the adults and that is the day you mourn your dead and in your heart and mind put them back in the ground in order to welcome and celebrate the return of life for the rest of the year until November comes again.

We remember with the love of family around the table, hot chocolate and Pan de Muerto.

This past Nov. 2, as all of us recall our beloved dead, my wife and I remember –

DiaDeLosMuertosLauren McCord, who died in January at the age of 23 in a car accident. Her Mother Victoria is our friend and family. Before I met my wife Luz, she babysat for Lauren and was her Nanny as well. Victoria was the matchmaker who brought my wife and I together.

Lauren’s favorite song, which played at her funeral, was the Katy Perry song, ROAR. For the final day of Dia De Los Muertos, in my thoughts I wish Lauren Rest In Peace.

After eight long months and weekly, sometimes daily Skypes (we lived in two different countries) my sister Raquel*  succumbed to ovarian cancer in May. Her final request was to see me before she died. I honored it, and as bad as the experience was, I prefer knowing that I did this last thing for her. I’ll never forget it. For the last day of Dia De Los Muertos, in my thoughts I wish Raquel Rest In Peace.
*my wife’s blood sister. Mi Hermana en la ley. After ten year’s of marriage, your spouse’s family becomes your true family – or should. We’ve been married nearly 18 years. Raquel/Rachel was my sister too.

When I returned home in July I got word that my cousin David Hope died. He was 38. Our lives took us in different directions so we were never as close as I would have liked. But on those rare occasions when we met (holidays), we always met well and enjoyed each other’s company. For the last day of Dia De Los Muertos, in my thoughts I wish David Rest In Peace.

One week later I got word that Skye McCole Bartusiak died. Skye was the first person to direct a screenplay of mine. I will always be glad for the experience. For the last day of Dia De Los Muertos, in my thoughts I wish Skye Rest In Peace.

2014 has been a very bad year for us and we are working hard to make something good of it.

Dia De Los Muertos is over. Today is Monday, November 3.

Here is to life!

One response

  1. abby

    Lauren was in my life nearly 10 years and was my best friend. I pray for her and her Mama every day.

    Like

    January 14, 2015 at 5:46 am

Leave a Reply

